CM Yogi direct officials to speed up work on Jewar Airport Project

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has directed Noida International Airport Limited and the Gautam Budh Nagar administration officials to speed up the work on the Jewar Airport project. The decision was taken in the meeting held in Lucknow between the CM, Chief Secretary Anup Chandra Pandey, and other related officials.

CM Yogi

Img : assettype

In the meeting, CM Yogi discussed the progress of the project and matters related to the land acquisition for the project. According to officials, if all goes as per schedule, the State Govt is expecting to launch the Greenfield International airport project by the end of December.

Speaking during the meeting, Adityanath said, “The airport’s utility is not only for Western UP pockets but also for neighbouring states of Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, and Haryana. The airport would become a milestone in the path of economic development of UP and connect major tourist and trade hubs of Mathura and Noida.”

He further ordered all the officials to expedite preliminary groundwork, including land acquisition and clearances from the Centre. The government has set the deadline of December 15 for the concerned departments to forward the proposal to the Centre for final clearance after the getting an approval from the state cabinet.

Last month only, the Govt has given its nod to start the Land Acquisition process. “We have already started the process of land acquisition as per procedure. We have invited objections and suggestions from farmers in this regard,” DM Gautam Budh Nagar, BN Singh, said.

The Uttar Pradesh Government has also released the first installment of Rs 250 crore for the land acquisition process. Spread over 5,000 hectares with four runways, the construction of Greenfield International Airport at Jewar will be done in various phases. In the first phase, a total of 1,300-hectares of land needed to be acquired for which the consent has been taken by the farmers. The land will be acquired from six villages— Rohi, Parohi, Banwaribas, Ramner, Dayanatpur, and Ranhera.